I have read the tanning process 101....

d2admin

Administrator
now comes the questions, I did a search for pickling solutions and came out with several different mixes, my question is which would be the simplist to keep a constant ph level, yet easy to prepare? The other question is what brand of tan (or is there a homemade recipe) that yeilds good results and is usser friendly? Any opinions are appreciated as this is my first attempt at tanning and would like to have the results in my favor, thanks in advance James

Welcome to the board Pangborn83. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Keeping a constant PH level in your pickling solution involves a lot more then what chemical you use for the solution itself.
What you put into it as far as hides, what they are like, greasy, salty, dirty, having soap residue in them, etc, etc.
Ease of preparation. They are all pretty much the same. Weigh out the amount of chemical and salt, mix it with the appropriate amount of water and stir.
Tanning solution. I use strictly Rittels.

I'll have to look into the tumbler but for the time I will have to do with out. Would the EZ-Tan tanning kit be a good one to start with (very user friendly by their description) as I am looking for something simple that I can hopefully do correctly, or would their trapline tan kit do better, whichever has a better chance of a first time do it yourselfer getting a good tan I will go with. Thanks and I am sorry I am being a pain, I just don't know anything about tanning and know noone who does except for the people on this forum. Thanks James

The only difference between the tanning kit and the trap line kit is you get enough chemical to tan approx. 20lbs of wet drained skins in the original kit.
The trapline kit which they advertise is for small game such as rabbits, mink, squirrels, will only tan approx. 3lbs of wet drained skins.

I'd recommend Rittel's, but that is a very biased opinion /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif