The Neck Shot Versus the Heart/Lung Shot?

I used to be able to make shots to 100yds with my .357 with consistency from a rest. No money or time to practice, and a weak back means I am doing good to hit a gong out there now.

Maybe with ammo prices back down I'll get some more time to get back to practice.

I used to shoot that pistol better @ 200yrds than a lot of the guys coming out with their deer rifles to check the scope from the bench. Man, I hope if they see anything it is close and they have a good rest or 500yds+ so its a clean miss.

Dear Salmo22
Thanks for the reply but couldn't help but noticed your group was rather large .065 thousands of an inch.Tool maker by profession.If you were shooting at a coyote at say 500yds and using your neck shot. Judging from your group which is off center you might have missed .Something to consider.Anyway try and get those groups tighter so all of us poor souls can marvel at your ability.Nothing personal.
Coyotewacker

It's been a long week and my eyes must be blurred.
I read coyotex as kotex and I thought that was a strange
screen name to have.

But yep, coyotex, you're right on with your statement.

Salmo- Don't quite get your understanding of lethal. Webster's says - deadly, mortal, fatal.It don't get any more fatal than a hit in the heart or lungs.Quicker perhaps with a hit to the cns but no more lethal. I too have competed in a little BR competition and anyone who has done both knows what you and you bench equipment do is at best 30-40 percent transferrable to real life hunting situations. Just my opinion but one borne out by a couple of decades experience at the bench and afield.

Brute

Originally Posted By: Jeepdude1987I used to be able to make shots to 100yds with my .357 with consistency from a rest. No money or time to practice, and a weak back means I am doing good to hit a gong out there now.

Maybe with ammo prices back down I'll get some more time to get back to practice.