Public Relations, how do you do it?

Critr Gitr

Now that "Public Relations - relationships with ranchers, farmers, and the general public." has been added to this board, let's have a little input.

In this day and age of "No Trespassing, No Hunting, Don't Ask" signs, how do you go about establishing good relations with landowners/farmers/ranchers?

We all know that varmint hunters can get in to hunt land that other hunters are barred from, but how do you establish contact? Then what do you do to cement and maintain those relationships?

------------------
Critr
www.SaguaroSafaris.com

I am relatively new to this (1st year) Predator Hunting, but my grandfather’s voice rings in my head when it comes to this subject and life in general: courtesy (Golden Rule) and honesty applies always.

In researching this for my geography, utilizing this board and grateful input from the members, and following the tips from Varmint Al's "How to Gain Access to Private Land" I have put together a plan that seems to work almost flawlessly – at least for me.

Based on a modified form of one that Doc sent (with input from 13 other members and several state DNR sites), which has the VHA logo (need to get approval), and includes:
1) name, address, phone #, vehicle description, and license plate #,
2) 15 general rules of Varmint hunting,
3) landowner name, address, phone #,
4) landowner permission agreement, and
5) Liability and Indemnification agreement.
NOTE: It is short and on one page.

I went out fully armed with my new and improved Landowner Courtesy Sheet, and a topo and Plat map of the area. I used a number of the 15 general rules of Varmint hunting but mainly “Do not meet the landowner armed or wearing camo”, and using general courtesy and explaining why I was approaching them. I then explained the form, handed them one to read, while holding the other form and the maps.