Pet 300 Win Mag Loads

xminerat

Anyone out there have a favorite 300 Win Mag load that they'd like to share with me?

I'm looking for a 165 or 180 gr load.

Thanks!

My hunting partner uses CCI 250 mag primer,Winchester cases, 70gr. IMR 4350 powder with a Speer 180gr. Spitzer bullet.

A friend had me work with his 300 WM in the TC Encore. Best we found:

190 Hornady BTSP
73.0grs H4831
.010" off the lands
Win Brass
CCI 250 Primer
Velocity 2938fps

It was under MOA out to 450yds which was the farthest we shot it. It was a max load from his gun so if you go that route start low and work up.

180gr Nosler Partition Protected Point
71 gr IMR 4350
Federal Premium cases
CCI Large Rifle Magnum Primers
3.365 OAL
I've been shooting this load for over 20 years and have used it from coyotes to Elk. I tried it in my wifes gun when we bought it and shoots almost as good as in mine so I haven't taken the time to work a better load for hers. Key

The new powder Hybrid 100 from Hodgdon's works very well in the 300WM just in case someone is interested. I was able to push 150gr bullets faster than factory and the primers were not as flat as the factory loads FWIW.

My sendero loved 75.5g of R#22, Rem case, fed 215 primer, bullet jamming the lands at 3100 fps (this is the accuracy load listed in the Nosler Reloading manual).

The best accuracy in my rifle was with the 180g Winchester Sp. vs the same weights in the Sierra, nolser, and speer bullets.

.300 Win mag Remington Sendero
180 gr. Sierra BTSP
Sierras max book load of IMR 4350
Federal 215 GGM primer
.010" off the lands

Makes for a very effective long range factory rifle. I don't need to quote distances but suffice to say it has some serious reach.

245 grain Rebated Boat Tail over 68grs Retumbo for 2690fps. Best agg. was 6.715" at the Fort Jackson shoot summer 2004.
John

Originally Posted By: pcammo245 grain Rebated Boat Tail over 68grs Retumbo for 2690fps. Best agg. was 6.715" at the Fort Jackson shoot summer 2004.
John