honest opinions on stevens 200

bailebr3

i am looking into a stevens 200 in 223. they are going for $320.00 at a local shop. i am new to the stevens/savage line. so what makes the stevens cheaper? are they decent guns? i want one b/c i cant convince my wife why i need to spend 500 to 600 bucks on a rifle for coyotes:) but i can get away with customizing a rifle a little at a time, so are there aftermarket stocks etc.? any help or opinion welcome.

thanks guys

the stevens rifles are great rifles! mine in .22-250 is amazing! they are very light and shoot great! i love them! i think the only major difference in the stevens and svage is the accu-trigger. the stevens dont have it. but the stevens is the best rifle for the money in my opinion

There's tons of stuff out there for them. You can find most anything for them. They're basically a Savage model 10.

Nothing wrong with them except the flimsy stock. I have one and it shoots better than it should.

I just read on another forum that Academy sports is running a deal on the Remington SPS for just over $300. For basically the same money, I'd opt for the Remington 700 action everytime FWIW.

Kudos to Savage for coming out with a shooter friendly trigger when all the other companies were lawyer proofing their's, but, having said that, I don't care for the Accutrigger. And yes, I have one.

It just doesn't feel right to me.

The Stevens I've got adjusted down nice. Not benchrest nice, but a nice hunting weight for sure.

If I wanted it any better, I'd slap a new trigger in it.

I'll make it official: Stevens 200...King of the cheaper than dirt rifles!
lol.gif

i looked at academy and couldnt find the rifle for the price? maybe our store is out. i have a rem. 870 that i mainly use for calling but now i have got some land that i could take shots out to 300 to 400 yards( if i wanted to). so thats why i wanted a good rifle but a cheaper one, that i could always customize along the way.