varget/benchmark

bluealtered

I ran off a batch of .223's with varget the other day and after shooting 40-50 of them, it seems to shoot a little dirty'er than my loads with benchmark. Has anyone else been using varget with their .223, and how is it working for you? blue

I went from shooting H335, Win 748, 322 to using benchmark in my 223 and could not believe how much dirtier it was than the other powders that I have been using for 20+ years.

You say that Varget is dirtier than Benchmark, eh?

I have used all of the above. I just picked up 8 lbs. of TAC for my AR-15 a while back for the specific reason that it burns cleaner than ALL of them........

It always makes me wonder when I see Posts like.. " This is the Cleanest Powder". Its such a bold statement. Makes me wonder if the Rifle it is being shot in is using a different Primer? So to cast out theories like that, it must boil down to what the rest of the components are for that particular rifle? This is Kewl.. Now I know with regardless of anything else I use.. I now have the cleanest Powder!
cool.gif

Originally Posted By: ackleymanI went from shooting H335, Win 748, 322 to using benchmark in my 223 and could not believe how much dirtier it was than the other powders that I have been using for 20+ years.

You say that Varget is dirtier than Benchmark, eh?

Yep I had the same experience!! It was extremely dirty in everything I tried it in..I got about 40 pounds i'd sell LOL

Bold statement from someone who has at least 30 different powders on hand and uses them all. TAC burns cleaner than ANY of the afforementioned powders. PERIOD. Don't ever start confusing me for one of the general public.........
grin.gif

I don't have the experience between the powders but can say that I've only tried Benchmark in my 223. First loaded rounds got me shooting 5/8" once I found the charge my rifle likes. Shooting prone off a backpack. I don't shoot high volume so dirty is fine by me.