Groundhogs Anyway You Like It

6mm06

Shooting groundhogs is a barrel of fun, regardless of how you do it. I've been shooting groundhogs for over 40 years. I dug up some old photos of groundhog hunts from several years past and decided to post some of them and just get a discussion going about how you like to hunt them. Just keep in mind that we are all different and may do things in a different way. No one way is better than another. Your photos and stories are welcome and will make for a good topic.

Over the years I've stalked, crawled through the grass, shot off Harris bipods, bench and sandbags and offhand at groundhogs. I've killed them with a variety of rifles, pistols and even a bow.

I've taken them with a 44 mag, 357, and 22 caliber handguns (both long rifle and magnums), some with open sights and one with a scoped Ruger Single Six revolver. A T/C Contender 223 really put the groundhogs down one summer, at distances that were amazing for a handgun. My buddy and I laid the rifles aside one summer and just used Contenders. We took over 50 groundhogs with those pistols. We used 30 Herretts too. I took a couple with a model 41 Smith auto 22 lr that I wish I had back. I should be kicked in the tail for letting that one go.

Rifles that I recall using have been 22 long rifle, 22 magnum, 218 Bee, 223, 22-250, 243, 6mm, 6mm06, 25-06, 257 Arnold Magnum, 270, 7mm STW, and 35 Remington. My son upped that to include a 375 H&H this past summer. And, I've taken them with the use of a dog and dug them out with a mattock. I've taken them from distances of three feet to close to 400 yards.

The area I hunt doesn't allow for distances much beyond 400 yards, so I hunt where I can and have a good time in the process. Just plainly stated, I love groundhog hunting. My life's experiences at hunting groundhogs has been a barrel of fun. I enjoyed everyone of them.