Foot hold traps in winter

gethuntin

Just wondering what types of problems arise in winter conditions trapping for bobcats coyotes fox. Is there problems with traps freezing i heard to put wax paper under them between the ground /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif, are there other things that arise. sorry for the broads qustions but i am new to trapping and want to get as much info and the right supplies before i set a trap.

When it gets real cold no problems if you already have dry dirt. The problem is when it gets wet then thaws out big trouble when it gets cold enough to freeze again. They will walk on your pan and it will be froze solid. Waxed dirt is the best, then some type of antifreeze would be my second choice. I use R.V. antifreeze. The kind they use in the sewer tanks. Waxed paper will keep the moisture from coming up from the ground.

30 yrs ago, befor footholds were outlawed here I,d make my fox sets under the evergreens where the dirt didn't freeze most yrs. the wax paper worked well, and
i kept buckets of dirt in the garage so I always had a supply. Never tried the antifreeze, but why not? This site brings back a lot of memories, think I'll go out back and fondle a couple #2 coilsprings,or maybe touch up my Case XX Hawbakers Muskrat special. Good luck and consider yourself lucky you can still trap !

two words for you if your sets are freezin, PEAT MOSS it wont freeze and if you put a thin layer of dirt over it, the dirt might freeze but the trap will still fire.

making wax dirt is a time comsuming process,

good luck, and happy trapping

peat moss is your best bet. put some in the trap bed, and cover with the same.you can cover the moss with dirt or just leave it exposed and scatter some around your set.try to make it look like the moss was dug out of your dirt hole. you can buy it at Walmart, and it`s not expensive.one bag will do ALOT of sets.