6.8SPC Coyote load... Choice between 2 bullets.

I'm trying to develope a more "fur friendly" round for my 6.8 AR.

My load is a 90gr Speer TNT over 29.5gr of RL7 in a new SSA case and a Wolf SMR primer. This round shoots ragged bug holes with my rifle. However, I'm having my doubts on the bullet and it's thin jacket. I'm concerned I'll either get HUGE exits or a surface splatter.

My thoughts are to rework the load using a Sierra 90gr HP with a thicker jacket. From what I've heard, the thicker jacketed bullet expands "slower" and may not give me that large exit I'm trying to avoid.

Sure I could use my .223, but the 6.8 is just asking for it's first kill. And who am I to say no? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

I have no personal experience with the 90 grain TNT's and coyotes, but I did section one of those bullets and the jacket is quite heavy. I believe it was designed as a varmint bullet for the .270 Win. and the velocities associated with it. I don't think you would have any problems with a "splash" at the velocities you will be achieving.

Hopefully someone with some personal experience will come along, but the bullet looks sturdy enough to me.

Quote:
I have no personal experience with the 90 grain TNT's and coyotes, but I did section one of those bullets and the jacket is quite heavy. I believe it was designed as a varmint bullet for the .270 Win. and the velocities associated with it. I don't think you would have any problems with a "splash" at the velocities you will be achieving.

Hopefully someone with some personal experience will come along, but the bullet looks sturdy enough to me.