lure makeing

joshuar

i have been makeing my own lures for a few years and have a few good ones for yotes. looking to add a new one to my trap line to mix it up. anyone have any mixtures that i could try? thanks

coons lure easy the number one thing i think with coons is the colder it is the louder the lure or scent should be. take fish or claims put them in a jar with lid loose and let rot. to that add 1 beaver caster and one beaver oil sac and 10 drops of anise oil. mix it up well and it should bring in any coons in or around your sets. also to switch it up you can save the scent sacs of the coons you catch and add them to the scent. if you trap coons in areas were there is a chance you mite catch house cats use a sweet smelling lure. i use vanilla, anise oil, and cherry coolaid powder mix togather. it helps keep cat from messing around your sets.

if you have the ability to age some ground meat underground for 30 days i love ogormans montana bait solution. taint 1 gallon of ground or chunked meat (i use either beaver or bobcat)for 30 days underground. dig up, mix in one pint of the above mentioned solution and viola. it stops the taint by preserving the meat and adds some goodie smells such as beaver castor, rat glands, and skunk jizz.

i make at least 1 gal each year whether or not i am going to get a chance to use it and run out every year as if i dont use it buddies steal it off me. works great on cats, yotes, fox and ive had enough wolves visit sets to know it will work on them as well. when it is all mixed up i leave it in the 5 gal bucket for 5-6 more days mixing it well once per day. then i simply place it into 10 oz plastic bait containers and seal them with a couple wraps of black electrical tape and place them in a different clean 5 gal bucket and seal the lid. for the most part i believe this gets better with age, so i make it 1 year ahead of when im going to use it and let it sit in the bucket till the next season.