help new reloaders

I am new to reloading. i have a new hornady electronic scale. it has measurements in g(grams i am guessing),
oz (ounces),
gn (grain i am guessing), kt (karat). Question is am weighting powder with "g" or "gn"?

I just recently became a member of PM and i have to give it to you guys this website is GREAT! I've been reloading for close to 2 years now and absolutly love it. Thanks for all your great advice! Keep up the good work.

28 yrs of reloading and made my 1st major mistake! Grabbed the Reloader 7 instead of the Reloader 15 [both similar black containers]. My reloading bench now has all powder containers arranged by burn rate rather than by manufacturer.

I started reloading in 1977 and have enjoyed every moment of it. It is a challenge and a science. I suppose almost everyone goes through the "power crazy" phase at some point but, I have discovered that if you varmint hunt consistency is what you are after. You want a tight group with consistent and repeatable data. Buy a good reloading manual and read ALL of the stuff BEFORE you get to the load data. Firearm safety starts at the bench!

When you are doing load development a simple rule will save you time and grief. Take an extra fine sharpie and write on the case the powder and charge, it will come off when you polish the brass. I learned this the hard way, I had all of my loads arranged in a range box in a certain way. On the way to the line I tripped and the box fell and opened scattering the contents. Now I got to pick them all up and go back to the house and pull every single bullet. Wasted time and effort. My granddad always told me "You gotta be smarter than what you are working with." Sound advice.

Hey , Jack, shouldn't "Help new Reloaders" be moved to the Reloader Forum along with the "Everything AR" thread to the AR Forum?

Boom