Curing a Snakeskin for a Hatband

RezDoggin

Hey fella's,
I think I read it in this forum before but not sure ,anyway how do I go about perserving a Rattlesnake skin for a hatband? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif
I tried to do a search but I guess I forgot how cuz I keep gettin "No Match Found". /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smiliesmack.gif

I too would like to know.

RezDoggin...How do you go about killing your rattlesnakes? I have always wanted to get one for there skin as well as see what they taste like...You know of any somewhat safe way to get one without a gun? I would like to know...It'd make it more exciting.

I bet Riverrunner knows how to cure a snakeskin.

hi,im new to this this forum but i can tell u that,as for killing it assuming ur not going to use the head,try to hit in the head w/ a broomhandle or something(thats fun)then carefully and precisely cut it off.then lay it on a flat surface and cut down the center of the belly w/ scissors, do it straight.then youll see were the hide conects to the body on either side, take a knife and cut the membrane,stick ur finger inbetween the body and hide,move it across the back until u come to the othersid,then stik ur figer in the space betweenth hide and body,move it down to the end and up to the top,now the skin should be off the body.lay it on a flat surface and get off all exess meat,u shuold now have a clean hide.get 1 gal. of water,1 cup of REPTILE tan and 1 cap of lysol.mix all together put the hide in and let sit min. of 2hrs stiring periodically.when its done tanning itll turn whitish gray.take out and drain exess,lay on flat surface and LIGHTLY stretch.towel dry,staple very outside edge down,flesh side up make sur is symetrical. apply REPTILE tanning oil.over flesh side.let dry min.1 week periodicly reapplying oil if any dry spots appear.carefully take out pins or staples,trim if needed,i use the middle section,trimming away the outside edges and extra length w/my hat bands i fold them in hal