ONE BAD .20cal!

Alright, I did some digging and you’re 200% right about the better case design. I didn’t realize how much better it was till I really read on it.

I’m kicking myself in the rear end hard for selling all my 6x47 stuff. I sold my brass, dies, all of it.

You’re really onto something here.

Originally Posted By: Austin Laughlin
If you had to do it over again DAA, would you still go the 20-250 route? Or is there any other route you’d take these days?

I would at least consider/investigate the X47 case, or even the Creedmoor case.

For myself though, having all the dies and components already, I'd probably end up doing the '250 again.

- DAA

Originally Posted By: Austin LaughlinCan I ask why? I can hold my own when it comes to reloading. But I’ve only been doing it about 3 years. I’m still learning about little stuff.
No point in starting at 6.5 when the Peterson brass is already at 6mm, and is the equal to Lapua in quality.

22x47 - 6x47 - 6.5x47

1YZPGNA.jpg

sO8tsAv.jpg

Even though I think the 47 Lapua is a better case design, already having a 20-250 that shoots the Berger 55's extremely well, if I had all to do over again I would probably have a hard time switching to a 20x47.

Since you plan on only shooting lighter bullets the 20-250 is already a lot overbore and going to an even larger case, more overbore, can sometimes be to much of a good thing. If you were wanting to sling the 55's then I'd probably be more compelled to go 20x47 Lapua.

It's a shame Nosler has never developed their 20 Nosler in to production because a 20 cal that had a little more case capacity than a 20BR but on a small bolt face and would feed slick would have been a really fun little cartridge to have, especially for slinging the 40 grainers. But Nosler isn't known for having the greatest brass so we probably would have been left with disappointment anyway.