Doing something wrong with pup distress???

Acronin

I have NEVER , EVER gotten a coyote to come into pup distress or fights. I know it's effective, but I cannot understand how others are so successful with it. I end EVERY stand with pup in distress. I'm using a Lucky Duck Riot and I know Rick has put a ton of different distress and fights on it all sound good to me.

How long do you let the distress go after a calling sequence?

My stands are usually around 20 minutes and the last 5 are pup distress or fights on and off.

Thanks for the input. Anything you can do to help would be awesome.

Got a double last night,lucky duck kryptonite finished them.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: HeymartayGot a double last night,lucky duck kryptonite finished them.

Ok, do you mind telling me how that went and how long you were at the stand?

If not that's fine, but something's got to be wrong. I've been hunting coyotes for many years and everybody has some success bringing coyotes in via pup/coyote fights/distress.

Do I need to stay on the stand longer? Like 30 minutes?

Thanks, also, hunting the Sandhills of Nebraska. Plenty of coyotes out there.

Andy

I've taken a ton with pup distress some with that as the only sound used.
Fun part is stopping one after a partner has shot and missed, once stopped one fleeing 4 times and yes my partner missed all 4 times! He was shocked and embarrassed.

I'm in the same boat as you. I've called a few that way over the years but not many. But i can't help but keep doing it. I figure if I'm at the end of a set, what have i got to lose.