Alaska, 5 out of 8 with a .375 H&H

375 H&H

Went bear hunting, found coyotes had a huge litter couple hundred yards from my stand. Saw 8 show up at 230 yards out. Waited for a adult to line up with one of the younger ones and started right there! Dropped those 2 and all heck broke loose. Dropped another at 215 running away, then dropped another runner at 200 yards, then hammered the last one at 85 yards as it had run towards me. I used my .375 H7H with Hornady's new Outfitter ammo, a 250gr. GMX, out of my cut down barreled Remington 700. All were DRT, in plain sight of my tree. Couple almost counted as 2 coyotes each. Had to reload 1 shell, as it only holds 4 total. I keep 9 more on the rear stock, it is a bear rifle after all. It was sunny with no wind. Rifle is scoped Zeiss 1.5-6 power, it was on 6 power. I was 60 yards above the river and 230 yards away from them, in a tree stand when I started shooting. It was over as fast as you can crank a .375 H&H.

No, I won't post a picture of that mess. But it's my best shooting with it and thought I would share. They were not prime hides and you cannot sew them back up. I did shoot a bear that snuck up behind me, at 20 feet at my cabin a few days later.

Okay, no picture. Bummer, but I get it.

How about a picture of the bear then?
smile.gif