New to coyotes - looking for assistance

TheGatherer

So I'm new to coyote hunting. I live in western SD and I'm getting into it because they are becoming a problem. I've heard and seen them for years up here - I back onto Forest Service and a 500-acre cattle ranch. We always have barn cats and a few have gone missing over the years but that's it. This spring they've gotten bold. They've killed all my chickens (which has never happened before), including one group of chicks that were locked in the coop - they dug under the gate and killed them all. And they have been in the front yard several times - also something I've never seen before.

So I picked up a Primos Alpha Dog call. I've been calling for a week now in the evenings. I've been using the Expert Hunt series on there. I can get the coyotes to talk regualrly to the different coyote sounds programmed on the call. Last night I had them responding to the call several times - but they won't come in. I saw one last night at about 600 yds through the trees but thats it. They moved from my east to the south over a period of an hour. This is fairly hilly wooded country and I most often hear them down in a ravine I assume to hold thier dens. I've been focusing on fawn distress and cotton tail distress as we have lots of deer and rabbits about.

Thoughts - Do I need to change the call sounds I'm using? Do I need to add scent to the situation? These coyotes have not been hunted at all so they sholdn't be super hip to the tricks yet. But they are certainly gettting way to bold around here and I'm guessing there are too many.

I'd really appreciate some help.

Last edited:
ive had good luck with pup in distress this time of the year I'd give that a try. I use either my Flextone 500 or my Foxpro Inferno.

Never tried interrogation calls yet. Ive been sticking with animals in distress but in the summertime pup in distress has been deadly for me