How to set on frozen ground?

fratri

I have a landowner that is asking me to trap a couple of coyotes on his land. The ground is frozen up here right now and there is some snow on the ground too... I see their tracks and have a good idea of where to set the traps, just asking for some advice as I have no real experience(only internet experience) placing traps on frozen, snow covered ground. No hunting, shooting allowed on the property except for dispatch.
Thinking of putting up a dirt hole set along a travel route. using a cable attached to the trap chain and then wrapping it around a tree, your how to thoughts are welcomed.

Last edited:
Snares would be best, sometimes finding a coyote in a drag can be tough with snow if you get a dump overnight. Unless it is heavy brush the drag slides over the snow easily and they can go a long way.

Rebar stake pound into frozen ground pretty good and freeze, you can get away with a shorter stake if it is frozen but won't hold very well if you get a thaw. You can get a auger for an portable drill to put in dirt holes in frozen ground chip out trap beds with a straight claw hammer.

If the snow is deep enough walking a trail through the grounds/farm on your snow shoes and go through a lot of narrow brush spots. Set snares in those narrows, coyotes will run the snowshoe trail. You can set on snowmobile tracks but they are wider and more likely to have another snowmobile run them ruining your set. Using footholds you can do scent post sets along the trail also and tie off to a tree or sapling, I used large Linden/basswood leaves collected in the fall for pan covers and sift snow over the trap.

I am not allowed to use snares here............