Coyote hunting from a ground blind?

Leon86

Anyone hunt coyotes / fox from a ground blind?? My choice of hunting areas right now consist of long (1000yds probably) stretchs of flat open field (River on 1 side, woods to the other) and I was considering a ground blind setup to hunt the open field (put the blind just inside the tree line on the river side and try to call them into the field)

I know with coyotes being predators that they are truely masters of there surroundings and will generally notice any odd structures in there area but I was just curious if anyone uses a tactic such as this or if it would be like waving my arms around and jumping up and down. I have not bought a blind for this purpose yet which is why I am asking before I spend the money.

I am new to this so I'm just trying to get an idea before I go spending money that I will later find I should have put elsewhere.

Last edited:
Well, It depends on the Area. Around here, ground blinds are a good choice and many people use them. If you can get in the setup quietly and Set the blind up, thats the best way. So, yea. I would say buy one.

if your not going to make very many stands it would be a good option.....but if ur going to make multiple stands it might hurt more than it would help.....also with predators u never know where they will come from and a blind might limit your fiel of view

Casey

Last edited:
We have one that is used to hunt deer out of. Coincidentally, it is in a pretty good spot to call as well. I got in it Wednesday with the intention of calling out of it. I didn't like the limited view I had, so I sat in front of the blind instead. Hunting from a ground blind really limits your field of view...not a good thing when you are predator hunting.

Last edited:
I don't / won't have any permanent stands for a good while so maybe it would be a good idea.... thanks for the info guys... anyone else?