your thoughts on curs

ccinso

hey guys: im fairly new to running my own dogs. Ive got a couple of jagd males, a walker female and a border collie male
that I run as a lurcher. I hunt coon and grays for the most part with a bob thrown in once in a while. Im pretty happy with my jagds but not sure about my walker yet. Been thinking about somthing different and considering curs. Im looking for something with medium nose and medium range and that has a voice at the tree because my jagds are pretty well silent unless they can see it, and maybe some smarts to boot.
I honestly dont know alot about curs, or types of curs and
was wondering if any of you guys had any suggestions. or thoughts as to wether a cur might be a good fit or maybe stick to hounds.
I look forward to hearing your thoughts

casey

I have some Cur crosses. I live in Eastern OR.
Your welcome to come over, and see my dogs.
They seem to get the job done. Duane

We've used curs for a long time on coons, and are starting the young pups on bobcats. They're doing real well. The ones I've hunted with have all been silent on track, which can be nice so you don't run everything out of the country.

Last edited:
curs oughta fit the nose and range you're lookin for, just gotta get the right ones. there's some with really good noses, and some without. sounds like a trip to Duane's would be worthwhile.

Casey, all of the curs I've seen were Kemmer stock from Striker lines, more or less. Most were medium nosed and some had better. All were open on track and tree and most had average grit for a mid sized dog. The things I liked most about them was their athleticism and handling/manners. They were all good dogs to be around and I can't remember any that were too hard headed. Good luck.