Primos Predator Calls

Curt Barrett

Just had the 2001 Primos call catalog arrive.Any of you guys try the Mini Howler or the Regulator open reed calls?

Thanks in advance, Curt

Hey Curt,

Glad to see ya here.

I have a couple primos calls, one is the mini howler (I personally don't like that call) It might be just because I'm dumb but I can not get it to sound right.

I also have another howler by them, it works wonderful, the only problem with it is it's size, it's about 2 and a half feet long, and the bell is about 6 inches in dia. but it sounds wonderful.

RK

------------------
Idle hands may be the devils work, but idle minds are so much worse

Hi Ryan! Thanks for the info. The regulator calls look interesting to me. Pretty compact. I might give one a try.

BTW,here is a pic of the catalog page if anyone cares. Ha Ha
View

------------------
"Never keep up with the Joneses. Drag them down to your level."

to Curt--I have extensive experience with the Primos Regulator 14, 10, and both howlers.The 14 is the longer range call and should be used most of the time
The Mini Mag Howler and the Power Howler have the same mouth pieces--should play basically the same. You can cut the power howler sound chamber off 3.5 in. from where the enlargement grove starts and still retain the mature dog voice--George Brint

------------------

Thanks for that info yoteman.

I am running out to get the chainsaw right now.
biggrin.gif

RK

------------------
Idle hands may be the devils work, but idle minds are so much worse

I have a Regulator, I do not believe that it was identified as a 10 or 14 when I bought it. Is that a fairly recent thing?

I have the big howler - I think I'll follow the chop off suggestion. Easy to blow, it does sound kind of flat to my human ear.

They also make a closed read call that I've called in a few things with. It seems that it was called a "6 in 1" or something like that.