ar15 16 inch barrel accuracy?

Quote:
"what should you expect to get at 100 yards with 9 power scope at 100 yards,2 inches or better?"

Sub moa. I'd expect it and if I wasn't getting it I'd be changing things till I was.

Quote:
dpms recommends cleaning bore after every shot 25 times,how many of you do it?

Closer to every 25 months for me. lol! Seriously though, I give it a good cleaning annually and anytime I get it soaked in the rain.

Good hunting

I just started shooting a 16" Bushmaster ORC Carbine this spring. This is a 1 in 9" twist chome lined bore. I have a 1.5x4.5x32mm Bushnell Elite 3200 Firefly Reticle Rifle Scope on this Bushmaster. I am loading 55gr. Nosler Ballistic Tips with H-4895 in Military LC Brass with Remington 7 1/2 Primers. Average Muzzle Velocity is 2948 FPS, and my 100 yard 3 shot groups from the bench have been consistantly between 1/2" to 3/4". A buddy of mine told me that with a standard handguard (not a free float tube) to put my front rest or shooting sticks so they sit on the delta ring so that is how I have been shooting it. No complaints so far at all.

Larry

I got tired of wearing my barrels out from over cleaning, a very hard habit to break, so now i just run a patch of kroil down them evry 100-200 rds, but clean the rest of the rifle often. blue

i think im gonna like this little dpms,when i got it i cleaned the bore,then shot 3 times to get it close to target,cleaned bore some,shot 1 time,put up for evening,shot 2 more times moved scope closer to target,shot 3 more times this time for a group that was just a little over 1 1/2. ammo was remington umc 45hp. shot about 80 yards or so.

the manual says after cleaning bore to put a light coat of oil in the chamber and bore,i thought that was bad,ive never done that. unless you store it for a long time i can see why?

I don't personally do that.
I figure the residual oil from cleaning after getting a clean patch is enough.