Advice on making calls

d2admin

Administrator
I just bought 6 predator call reeds on e-bay should get them in the mail by the end of the week.I was wondering where to start. I have a few deer and elk antlers sitting around and was wondering how to get started. Here's a pic of the reeds I ordered.
i-1.JPG

I was also wondering where I could get material to make open reed calls. My dad has plenty of bands, they use em on calves.Also is it pretty tough to make a wood call? I've noticed most people use antlers on homemade calls.

Thanks,
Justin

I've never done this before...but will prolly try soon, but I think they like the look of the antler more....In my experience (not in calls, but otehr crafts..) Wood is 100 times easier to work than antler or bone....they stink and are hard to drill/cut, and are more brittle than a good ol wood...

Justin,
If you have a wood lathe and are half way skillful with it, making predator calls should be fairly easy for you. The size and shape of the call is a matter of personal taste. Your photo shows several reeds in bottom row and the metal inserts which hold the reed in place are shown in top row. Hole is drilled inside the call for the insert to press in there tightly. The reed is then installed with a special reed changing tool. Reed change kits can be purchased from most any major call company.

Here is a quick way to use one of your new reeds. Take a .270 case and cut the base off. Tap a reed into the mouth and presto, instant call! Drill a small hole in the side to put a lanyard through.
smile.gif

Rich,
I don't have a wood lathe, I have ran a metal lathe at a machine shop.Where can I get a reasonable priced lathe, and how much $ am I looking at? Also about the reed changing tool, are these reeds worthless without one? Or can I use something else?

Curt,
I'll have to try that.

Thanks for the info guy's.

Later,
Justin

Justin,