Trimming and .223 case length

Greyhunter

I reloaded a few hundred .223 rounds about 10 years ago and just recently dusted off my reloading equipment, so I'm still a newbie. I just picked up a new dial caliper and it has me wondering about case length. I see my timmed cases are approx 1.55", so I would assume thats near the optimal length.
Measuring untrimmed but full length resized brass I get between 1.60" and 1.75"+ at the extreme end. Since I'm on a pretty tight budget I only have a cheap Lee case trimmer, the hand held $10 type. Naturally it is pretty slow (even with a cordless drill) and I hate trimming the cases, its the worst part of the reloading process to me. Having never had calipers before, I always trimmed and chamfered each case for every reload, but its a pain. I primarily reload to save money, although added accuracy is a plus.

So my question is, what is the longest overall case length I can safely use in .223 (will be running them through a RRA AR-15)?
Do you folks trim your cases every time, and if not, at what point do you?
Also it stands to reason a variation in case length would effect accuracy, but a little or a lot?

Yes, a good reloading manual would probably provide this info, but I'm still waiting on my buddy to loan me one of his so I'm just working on some case prep. Thanks for any info.
Joel

Well if the numbers above are correct you sure do not have any cases too long.The recommended trim length for a .223 is 1.750 and max is 1.760 so you have cases that are 1.55 thats awful short. I usually trim once the cases are over length but I really do not think cases slightly long or at varied length are going to destroy accuracy but it is helpful if you plan to crimp that all cases be the same length. Most do not crimp but some do.

LOL, sorry, it just occured to me that I was way off on my reported measurments. I meant to say my timmed cases were 1.755" and the untrimmed were 1.760" to 1.775". Sorry for the brain fart.