25-06 AI Vs. 257 Wthby Mag.

yotenaylor

Well boys Its getting close to deer culling season again. Im thinking the 257 weatherby mark V is going to see a lot more saddle time, but Im leary about using such a beauty of a rifle for this stuff- excitement and humid dirty nights tear a rifle up pretty quick.

Im considering 2 things:

1 Find a belted magnum savage rifle cheap and rebarreling it for 257 wthby (Ackleyman, you might get a PM on this one).

2. Using a currently owned savage and rebarreleing it to 25-06 AI.

First and foremost, I like the weatherby because it brings down the thunder and recoil wise its so easy to shoot, kinda like a velvet sledge hammer. And frankly, it sounds cool to say "257 wthby mag"-LMAO.

I have no experience with the 25-06, but I know its just a smidge behind the weatherby, and Im wondering how close the game would be it it were improved.

So, if any of you guys that have chronographed your 25-06 AI's could post some velocities you get, Id really appreciate it. I looked on reloaders nest, and the AI looks a smidge better than the weatherby with a lot less powder, but Im always skeptical about anything I read there.

Thanks in advance /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif - Mike.

If the 257 Weatherby case will fit into your current Savage action it's a simple matter to change out the bolt face to the bigger case head. Brownell's and Midway have them. Worst case is you may need a new magazine with the magnum feed lips which is also inexpensive.

Bob, your right on. I had to double check, as some of the savages in WSM and RUM chamberings had a larger shank, I had this confused with belted magnums.

Might still have to go with the -06AI as overall cartridge length might get me. A quarter inch doesnt sound like much, but its always the little things.