What is canalure (sp)

skeetlee

I hear the word canalure a lot when people are talking about bullets. I think i have an idea what it means, but i was hoping some could describe it to me. Thanks Lee

The canalure is the ribbed area on a bullet where you crimp it. I don't know that it serves any other purpose other than a tighter crimp. I have read where people have used canalured bullets without crimping them but I don't know why.

I've been loading bullets now for near 50 years, both with and without a canalure and have never crimped a rifle bullet with one. Jacketed revolver bullets do need a crimp though.

I never crimp any of my rifle reloads. I usually don't buy cannlure bullets but I did buy a bunch on sale a while back. They were cheap enough, so I bought 'em.

Do not fear the cannelure. I crimp the bullets very snuggly if the bullet I have chosen has a cannelure. They will deliver the same accuracy out of the guns I have anyway. Its all arguable of course, and can understand most target shooters prefer no crimp, but I see no reason for a hunter to worry about accuracy loss when crimping. I would have a hard time decerning crimped and non crimped groups at 100 yards in my guns.

Quote:
So, how do you put the crimp on ?

Tim

Tim, just set your seating die up to roll the case into the cannelure. They more you screw the die down the firmer crimp you get.