Wisconsin Varmint hunting

bowhunter34

i am new to varmint hunting and own land in central wisconsin. my family has seen a few groundhogs around but have not been looking for them.

i was just wondering when to go, and where to look, like at the edge of a crop field or a small food plot field.

any advice you can give will help, im going turkey hunting this weekend and would like to varmint hunt

When I was a kid growing up in central Wisconsin the best varmint shooting was gophers in the town cemetery. Every once and a while we "nicked" a grave stone but hey, sometimes sacrifices are necessary to keep ole' Aunt Myrtle from being dug up.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Quote:
i am new to varmint hunting and own land in central wisconsin. my family has seen a few groundhogs around but have not been looking for them.

i was just wondering when to go, and where to look, like at the edge of a crop field or a small food plot field.

any advice you can give will help, im going turkey hunting this weekend and would like to varmint hunt

If you own the land, I don't see a problem.

From the '07 Wis. Regs:

"License Requirements:
A landowner is required to have a license to hunt deer, bear, Game Birds, Migratory
Game Birds, bobcat and Unprotected Species or to trap otter, muskrat, mink, bobcat, or
fi shers. The owner or occupant of any land and members of their family may, without
a license and subject to all other restrictions except seasons, hunt or trap on their own
property for beaver, fox, coyote, raccoon, woodchuck, rabbit, and squirrel year-round;
however, hunting with a firearm is not allowed during the 24-hour period immediately
preceding the regular gun deer season, and hunting is illegal for anyone under the age
of 12."

Jim

seems as though its a go ahead