socal coyote hunting

coyotehunter25

I live in Hemet CA.
i was just wondring if theres anyone who knows any good places near me to hunt coyotes? I am new to coyote hunting and i dont know were to hunt them.
thanks
-kevin

Howdy Kevin,

Quite a few good areas around you. For starters head up in the hills to the east of you. Not the res obviously, but further up. That should keep ya busy for a while. Theres plenty of dogs up there and areas to explore.

Good luck!

Man, times sure have changed. I use to hunt almost anywhere I wanted day or night down around Hemet. To many people, houses and rules nowadays.
BigWave is right though, lot's of predators in that part of California, but be careful.
Make sure you have a copy of the regs and read them good, some good maps of public land and what kind of weapons you can shoot in the area you are hunting.
You probably know all that, but I told you anyways just in case lol......Good luck.

thanks guys.

ya the only place i can shoot yotes hear is in the san bernadino national forest and i dont see them there much

i wana try the desert around palm desert but im not sure were to go

I am a new coyote hunter also and I live just West of Bakersfield, Ca. I have done several things that will help me at the start. I have been reading here for several weeks and I believe I now have collected all the gear necessary.I have talked to the guys that have the heards of sheep that you see while driving and I have talked to some of the ranchers around here. The other night, when the moon was bright, I took and drive and when I was close to a good area, I would pull over and just listen. I found several areas that sounded as if there were many 'yotes just begging to eat one of my .223 bullets after I pick it up my gun next Sunday. (waiting periods sux)
You might try one or all of these ideas. I'll bet you can think of others to get you going, too. Good hunting!

---------------------------------------------------