Making Oil?????

As an engineer I need to see the energy balance around the production method. That will tell you if it's truely worth pursuing.

You know, not like our current stupid ethanol kick. The popular corn method of ethanol manufacturing in America is a energy consuming process in that it takes more to get it to ethanol form than you get from the ethanol. Not smart. I wish there were better scientists and engineers advising the politicians.

Bill, As an automotive mechanic I'm with you 100%. They are taking land away from food production to grow corn that will go into alcohol fermentation. Keep in mind the farmers consumme diesel fuel to run their tractors and combines. This will cause an increase in food prices even though whats left over can still go into cattle feed. Our taxes subsidized the growers and the distillers, so we pay more in taxes to have artifically cheap alcohol. Alcohol needs to be distilled which requires lots of energy. Coal is probably the most cost effecient source for this process. Finally you have alcohol, which asorbs moisture and causes degradation in the fuel system itself, especially any aluminum parts. The car makers have made adjustments in the fuel system to be alcohol resistant which drives the cost of a car up.

The big reason why I don't like using alcohol for fuel is it is a good waste of beer and whisky.