Ruger M77 Trigger

jdp3

Can someone direct me to very specific instructions on how to adjust the trigger on a Ruger M77 22-250... I need elementary type explanation. From where to start to take parts out etc.... I need them like i was explaining them to a 3rd grader. I need a guide as well. I've always just taken it to a gunsmith but don't like the $90 price tag. Im just getting started doing all of the work on my own guns and want to do this, my trigger needs to be lightened. I don't know what the parts in the trigger are called so, well you get the point. Please help...

Thanks so much

Save yourself the trouble and get a Timney replacement. Cheaper than $90, way superior to any work on the stock trigger, and very easy to install.

Working on the stock trigger is very tricky and can end up ruining it totally. All you can really do is polish the bearing surfaces. If you lessen the sear engagement, you'll need to have the sear heat-treated.

Timneys can be had for about $60 if you shop a bit and they say some of the others are great too but I've only used Timney in my Rugers.

I'd like to find a Timney for $60 - got any leads? They're finally in stock at Natchez and Midway, but for about $100. I'd love to save $40.

I agree with the others. The Ruger 77 requires light stoning to lighten up the pull,(in my experience). There are instructions floating around out there but I think it best to just go get a replacement.

Well, you guys talked me into. I now have a Timney trigger on the way from Lock, Stock, and Barrel, who had them for $85. It's for the wife's rifle. Hopefully I can install it in time for her to practice with it before our June 2 bear hunt.

Here's how it's done. I've done a lot of Ruger triggers, but have to say the folks above are giving you good advice. When your done you still have a trigger that isn't adjustable.

Ruger Model 77 Trigger

by
Michael Donaldson (aka Doc)