Water/Wastewater Treatment Operators

Curt Barrett

Any of you fellas in this line of work hanging out on this board?

There is an opening with our local utility and I was wondering how you guys liked your job. What are some of the duties you are required to do? Definitely a change from the electrical trade but the money and benefits are attractive. Plus the job is alot closer to home for me.

Anyway, if you could share some of your likes/dislikes, and the scope of your job I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks, Curt

My company did some work in a wastewater plant and it turned stomachs for the first few hours everyday until we got used to the odors.

Will this job be industrial or municipal wastewater treatment? At one time I was as high as class II, but never went on all the way to class IV. I'm an engineer by education and career and at the time was working in an area that required at least a class II.

Even in the plant I work at now the class IV industrial wastewater is one of the highest paying hourly jobs.

Last edited:
My father owns several waste water treatment plants in Arizona. He has done this for 25+ years. At one time (before he sold a few to the state of AZ) his plants handled the waste water from the Arizona Prison in Florence, AZ. I used to work at the plant every single summer from 14 years old until 19. Interesting things we found in the prison waste water? Notes to other inmates quickly flushed down the toilet, drugs, string, small knifes, and the worst... human fingers.