Playing with Camo Paint on AR15

rockinbbar

I've been painting rifles for many years now.

On bolt actions, I generally just paint the stock. I've tried to add colors that blend well in a certain environment that can be used in that environment all year.

Now the kicker!
I got an AR15 for coyote calling. I was impressed with it's accuracy! In fact I kick myself for not getting into the AR rifles long ago. (I really am not much of the semi-auto black-gun type...I'm reformed on that position now)

So, when you have an AR15, you face a whole new ballgame as far as painting camo on the rifle.
First, mine is a custom AR w/ a 24" bbl that is stainless steel. (Bright for calling, in my opinion.)

Plus, the rifle itself is not much to look at in the raw. (Black)

I could see all sorts of possibilities with painting the entire rifle. Much the way the Bushmaster & Rem. R-15's are done.
To me this makes the rifle much more comfortable while calling. The rifle DOES stick out while calling, so why not camo the entire AR?

The first attempt at doing this type work was done in my tried & true method of giving the rifle a base coat, the using branch stencils to add color & leafy texture to the outline.
AR-YOTE.jpg

I hunted with the rifle like this for the season, but I wasn't quite satisfied with the overall appearance of the AR.
I began to contemplate the area I was hunting, whi=ch is mostly very desert. On top of that, the time calling is mostly during the winter.

The vegitation & dirt are mostlt tans with the greasebrush still having leaves that run to an off green-sage color.

I hatched an idea about what I wanted my AR to look like. I wanted more of a COMPLETE camo paint job that would fully blend into my surroundings. It could not be "stenciled" as the terrain is motled.

I found the new army digital urban camo to be a near perfect match for clothing, but I still lacked teh desire to do the AR in that same camo pattern.

What I came up with is this:

arskull.jpg