Black bear hunting in New Hampshire.

fivepaknh

Me and my brother, another total noob at hunting, were going to try our hand at bear hunting this coming weekend. We're going to the D1 or D2 WMU's because the harvest report showed the highest concentration of bear taken in these WMU's last year. G had more, but it's a bigger area. Now the question I have is this. I've checked several websites on bears and they all say bear can see color. Is hunter orange recommended for hunting black bear in New Hampshire? I would imagine the concentration of hunters would be less than during deer season.

Thanks for any advice.

If you are stalking or still hunting, especially on the opening weekend, I would wear orange. If you are sitting over bait, or calling, I would wear orange on the way in and on the way out. Make sure you carry a flash light and USE it on the way out even if it is not dark. You don't want some yahoo shooting you 15 minutes after legal shooting hours even though you can see. As for the sight issue, in my experiance they don't see very well, but man can they smell and hear.

If you really want some good bear hunting, you just have to go to Vermont and the Green Mountain National Forest around the towns of Hancock, Rochester and Granville. It's about a 2 hour ride, but there are a ton of bears up there.

Good luck this weekend. Hope you bag a good one.