Effective coyote range for .223?

DaveD

Need some advice, since I'm still pretty new to this. I'm thinking about getting a better scope. I'm wondering how far beyond 300 yards I should consider the max range for a 223. I have no worry that I can hit at least that far when conditions allow.

However, I'm trying to decide whether to get a plain duplex reticle and plain turrets, or whether I should spring for a BDC scope, target turrets and/or a fancier reticle to help when the bullet starts falling off the cliff.

Comments about the various alternatives are all appreciated.

I have the Ballistic plex 3-9X40 from burris and I love it. I shoot at the NRA all the time and we can hit the silhoettes up to 600 yds, unfortunately we can't go on the big bore silhoette range because the .223 will put holes in the 1/4 plates. I would love to see exactly what and how far it will go.
1.25" high @ 100
dead on @ 200
first line 300
second line 400
3 line 600. My buddy's .204 shoots the same by the way.

I came to edit this so I wouldn't be misenterpreted. I would not shoot at a coyote past 300 yds expecting to kill it everytime. I do throw hail maries too. I just wanted to make myself clear because I scrolled down and seen how and where this thread was going. So I guess my MAX comfortable range would be 300 yds and less.

gonzaga /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif

Last edited:
I wouldn't shoot at coyotes beyond 200 yards with a .223 rifle. I own an AR and a bolt action rifle in .223 and although I can easily hit targets at over 300 yards, I feel they lack the downrange energy to effectively kill coyotes beyond 200 yards. MHO and I'm sticking to it.

Coyote 6974