AR 15 in Oregon-question

Brendan43

Greetings from next door in Idaho. Maybe someone can answer for me a question. I'm going to a new spot tomorrow that requires me to go out of Idaho and into Oregon and then back into Idaho. Seeing as Oregon is slightly more hippiefied than Idaho (honestly, no offense meant) does anyone know if I can carry my AR. I'd sure hate to get it taken. I tried calling various police agencies in Oregon with promises of call backs all to no avail. I'm a teacher so I can't get in trouble- if I want to keep my job- but I want to use my 2 weeks off to do a little scouting in an area my taxidermist told me about.
Thanks

I think you will find that the five round mag limit only applies to game animals, which the coyote is not. Besides if your only passing through it shouldn't matter anyway. I have used the AR platform for the last twenty plus years and never a problem.

If you are just driving through keep it cased and keep the Mags sepperate with ammo, I would not worry about it then since unless you get stopped and searched no body has to know any way. BTW you can be searched other than subsequent to arrest, only with a warrant or by giving consent.FWIW

While we are one of the most liberal states in the union, it's not necessary to travel with rifle and mags/ammo being separate. The only occasion where you'd need to travel with rifle empty (no ammunition in the rifle) would be on an atv.

Last edited:
I hate to rain on anyone's parade here, but there is some false information being posted.

I dont beleive that you can carry loaded firearms legally in any vehicle, I would certainly check with a law enforcement professional about that one.

As far as hunting with an AR-15 or any other semi-automatic rifle to be "legal" you must not use magazines with a capacity of more than 5 rounds. That goes for ANY animals EXCEPT the western grey squirrel.