Dillon 550 users

land308

I'm new to Dillon presses and only have about 200 223rem rounds under my belt with this press. MY problem is that every now and again the powder measure dumps powder all over the place. I think this happens most of the time because the lip of the case is catching on something up in there causing the measure to lift before the case in fully in place. This last time it happened I think the measure may have got jammed open on a piece of powder. I am using IMR4895 and I can feel the measure crunch powder ever so often. Any suggestions? I'm sure I am screwing up some where in the process or don't have something set up quite right. Thanks for any help.

There are two possible causes that I can come up with quickly:

1) your powder is bridging in the powder-funnel.

2) your shell-plate is not as tight as it should be so the cases can tilt enough to enter the powder-die at enough of an angle so that the case hooks the edge.

The shell-plate on mine needs to be re-tightened regularly.

Dillon doesn't claim their measure to be compatible with 'stick powders', and with the availability of very useful ball powders for .223, thats where I would go. Several good ones, which flow perfectly, include W-748, H-335, Acc. 2230, Benchmark... If you can detect any powder shearing, your charges are not likely to be uniform.

OK here are a few things I have figured out about the 550.

Ball powders will some times stick because of static electricity. Use a dryer sheet and wipe it around in the powder funnel.

When setting up the powder die, make sure the powder bar runs all the way over to the right when you raise the brass into it. When all the way raised the left side of the powder bar should be flush with the housing it rides in. If it is not, it will create a small "shelf" and some powder will stay in there until the last second.

Worst case scenario call Dillon.