Anyone using 60 gr Hollow point sierra 243 bulleta on coyotes

yoteblaster

Is Anyone using 60 gr Hollow point sierra 243 bullet on coyotes. How well do they work and do they cause a great deal of damage and do you see much for splash on the shoulder, bones.

I am VERY new at reloading, and made a post somewhere else.
But, I will ask the question again. Can Red Dot powder be used to load .204's using winchester primers and Hornady v-max bullets (40 gr.) /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
Don't mean to interupt anyone.
Thanks

wendle check over here for 204 Reloading data.

http://www.204ruger.com/

Click on the load data section. The forums will also offer you some good insight to loading the 204. I use Alliant 10X with both the 32's and the 40's with excellent results. There are several online reloading data sights and I haven't seen one that recommends red dot. It's a pretty high energy shotgun/pistol powder. I use it in my 38 special.

yoteblaster I've been using the 55 grain Nosler balistic tips since they came out in my 243 with excellent results. I push them along at over 3900 fps and no splash wounds. some go thru and some don't. They kill very well.

I shot a Shilen Stainless Steel Match barrel out shooting the 60g Sierra chambered in 6mm Rem shooting 50.0g of Win 760 in a Win case, with a fed 210 primer. The groups are very tiny and at 4000 fps, they did not tear up hides much at all, but the coyotes were laying right where you hit them, even when shot way back in the stomach.

The 60g Sierra is a much tougher bullet than a 60g Berger, and of course tougher than a V-Max.

I have shot the 60g Sierra in several 243's, and in a 243 BAR that I hunted with.

Accuracy with the 60g Sierra is on par with a 60g Berger, also.