Loose scope eyepiece question

Furhunter

I have sent a scope back to Burris, its one of their XTR Tactical's in a 3X12

I sent the scope in 2 weeks ago, because of a loose eyepiece. I found when the rifle (AR) was on the bags, I could reach up and wiggle the eyepiece and the crosshairs in the scope would move on target, the eyepiece was loose to the point you could move it and it would stay there. Now I am no expert by no means but I argued with customer service this morning that the optical movement of the crosshair without moving the rifle would change POI on target because you are actually aiming at a different point on the next shot. They said it wouldnt, and I was told that I was actually flexing the tube. I had a Spingfield scope years ago I sent back because of the same thing.

Does this make any sence? am I wrong here? I have been a died in the wool burris guy for many years but this could change that. I was told that the guy that fixed my scope had been doing this for 30 years, I told them I have been shooting for 20 of those and I knew what a loose eyepiece can do for accuracy. Pi$$ed me off.

I've got one sent in to Bushnell customer service right now with the same problem. I know it was moving the POI on it because I was shooting all over the place. They are fixing mine. You would think that Burris techs would know what they are doing but...I own an auto repair shop. You would be amazed how many guys are out here that do not have a clue and make the most boneheaded mistakes. Just depends on which tech you get. I wish you luck. Under warranty, you are at their mercy but if you get it back and it is not right, I'd send it right back and talk to another tech or the boss.