mt lion calling need tips

NOVICE

Going to NM on mule deer hunt property owner is having Problems With bear and MT. Lion getting his sheep asked if i would mind trying to get them. Called several coyotes but may be out of my league with this need some advise on sound and tactics. have fx3 unit, can hit accuratly at 5-700 yards. any help is apreciated.

Find 'em first, then sneak in, call long, and sit still. There's alot of specifics to it, but your location and situation will determine that. It's really that simple. Not easy, but that simple.

Take a look at the NM game and fish website. The have quota info and also nonresident tag info for lion and bear.

Good luck, Make lots of stands. Lions can show up as early as 1 minute. Be ready.

Owner has the destructive animal tags just helping him with calling in the animals. I'll do the calling he'll do the shooting. Figure if i can call him in that will be the exiting part for me even if he misses i'll have done my part.

I'm a novice too; only shot one coyote while deer hunting but would love to hunt really outlaw mountain lions though have no success record. Am Retired from US ARMY and PCSO so now have lots of time to invest in hunting and if where you are going they would accept more help from a rank beginner but quick learner, write me!

Thanks!

Sam III

I'm paying for the mule deer hunt but this is just added bonus. Probably wouldn't have gone if not for lions. by the way thank you for your service to this country.

Landowners, lessees or their regular employs may without a license, kill any cougar that has killed domestic livestock or presents an immediate threat to human life or property. You still need to report your kill within 24 hour of time so the G&F can collect data. If you are acting as an employ to the landowner the G&F may ask for proof of that claim.

Bear reads about the same.

Good luck.

You have your work cut out for you.

Lions are REAL big on traveling.