best shotgun load/choke combo for fox

psutrapper

I'm looking for some ideas on the "best" load/choke combo for fox...I shoot a benelli SBE 12ga usually 3" but can go 3 1/2" and I have a patternmaster, the jellyhead and cabelas Hevi-shot Mod. tube plus numerous others. What do you guys reccomemnd? Lead, hevi-shot, copperplated #4 buck...what about pelt damage? I've used #4 or #5 lead with no p[roblem, but I'm looking for a load that will still be good at 40 yds or more - if need be) plus something I can drop a 'yote with if one comes in. THanks for the help!

Here's a couple of pics. with a 1 5/8 oz. handload of lead BB's from a Nova, through at .675" Terror at 40 yards. Lead BB's are the biggest lead shot that have patterned well from this particular choke for me. Smaller shot patterns well, too. In spite of it's constriction, it is not a "turkey" choke, which will produce patterns of high center density with the smaller shot sizes.

BB's are big enough to do the job on coyotes within reasonable shotgun range yet produce a dense enough pattern to put enough pellets into fox to bring them down effectively. And, even the buffered premimum lead shot loads are cheap, in comparison to Hevishot or it's clones. The circles are 30" in diameter.

Picture1045.jpg

Picture1044.jpg

I mostly used BB[sometimes buffered 4 Buckshot], in a 12ga 3" mag. Worked mighty fine. Sometimes, a Red can take a pounding like a coyote. Best, to be ready for a quick follow-up shot.