savage 24F-12

robcarnahan

It looks very interesting, thinking of getting one in .223/12. I was wondering what kind of accuracy they are capable of on the rifle side? And if the choke tube is fixed or can be screwed out?

Thanks

I have a lot of experience with one Savage 24F
.223/12. Most of my experience was posted on Predator Masters and if you do a search I am very sure you'll see a lot of posts on the topic of my 24F experience.

I thought that gun would be a great one for me for the conditions I hunt in. I bought one new and it came with a scope mount that is supposed to "attach" to a flat plate on the right side of the receiver. Bought a scope, had it professionally mounted, and found that it had very good accuracy with the .223. When I shot the shotgun barrel however it threw the point of aim of the rifle off by about 6 inches when I shot again with the .223. Thought it was the scope, put on another one and found the same problem.

I contacted Savage. The first person I talked to said I was not supposed to put a scope on that gun. When I asked why they included a mount with the gun she said I should send it in. They had it for about a month and when I got it back it had the same problem. Contacted B-Square, who made the original mount, and they made me a custom mount for it but messed up the holes. I was done with the gun. Got a Tikka .223 T3 Light instead.

It's a long story for sure. My advice is that if you DO NOT plan on putting a scope on it they are great guns. There are ways to affix the mount to the gun with JB Weld, etc. but I really don't think a person should have to fiddle around to that extent.

Moostrot