Asbestos question???

Junebugg

Question for any builder/remodeler?Do acoustic ceiling tiles that they put in alot of houses in the late 60's early 70's (instead of sheetrock) have asbestos fibers in it?Also what about metalbestos chimneys?Is the fiber between the two layers of metal asbestos?

Quote:
They can, but the only way to be sure is to have it tested.

Crapshoot is right, about 50% are asbestos. Metalbestos, the same. This is based on my research into this subject. I am a Home Inspector and have been asked the same question fairly often. Same holds true with Vermiculite Insulation, about 50%. Like Crapshoot said, have it tested, if there is none, your remodel project is no big deal; if there is, them you MUST take proper precautions for removal and disposal. Remember, asbestos is really no big deal unless it becomes friable(airborne). The test should cost you about $75-$100, well worth it.

Thanks for the replys.Problem is I've already started the removal of the ceiling tiles and the whole asbestos question kind of hit me as an after thought.If these are asbestos fibrated the stuff is already airborne...Guess there is a 50% chance i'm screwed.

Quote:
Thanks for the replys.Problem is I've already started the removal of the ceiling tiles and the whole asbestos question kind of hit me as an after thought.If these are asbestos fibrated the stuff is already airborne...Guess there is a 50% chance i'm screwed.

Wear respiratory protection, keep the dust cleaned up.

Wear a resperator of proper filtration and use a garden sprayer to just moisten the surface of the material you are working with. Keeping the surfaces just damp will help to keep the dust down. You should place all questionable materials in plastic bags and wet the contents down before sealing the bag. This will help insure that if a bag is torn during disposal someone isnt accidentaly exposed to asbestos dust.