6mm/22 T T H

Neffquail

What about this new Gun that I just finished reading about in the new Predator Extreme Magazine. 6mm case necked down to shoot .224 cal bullets in all wts and sizes.
Anybody here have any experience with this particular combo?

Neffquail,
I have not actually had any expericence with it but i have read and heard about it . It was developed to hunt deer down in South Texas.
I have been hearing about for about the last 2 years and Guns&Ammo (i think ? ) ran a long article on it and a other one (22/243), they were using them for long range (800 yrds + ) PD hunting.
If i remember correctly the name of the article was "Extreme .22's" but i may be wrong.

Sean

Hello,
This is not really new. There are many variations of 22-6mm, and most have been around for years. To get the rifle to shoot all the bullets, all you have to do is specify a fast enough twist.

According to the article, you can even handload the thing with "Starky" bullets. Known to us laymen as the "Starke" line. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Anyhoo, if you want some actual handloading data for 22-6mm, go here: www.accuratereloading.com/226rem.html

What makes a good article for a magazine, does not nescessarily mean much in the real world.

All the extreme overbore chamberings are way far out in the "land of rapidly diminishing returns." Once to the 22-250, 220 Swift, 22-250AI size, you are at a practical limit. (And those cases are only at their best with heavy bullets and fast twist barrels.) Burning more powder than will fit in those cases does very little for velocity, but will burn out barrels in as little as 300 rounds.

Using a borescope will make you a believer in smaller cases. I could describe the differences till I am blue in the face, but unless you see it first hand, you won't believe it.

Jack

Go to rifle-barrels.com and check out the hammer bullets 80 grain .224 bullets.Sounds like an awsome bullet.Has some talk about the .224TTH