240 grain .41 mag bullets

deadeyerichard

I have a Taurus .41 mag pistol. I've been really impressed with it. I've been shooting the 240 grain Winchester Supreme Platinum Tips out of it. I've been impressed with the accuracy and like the heavy for caliber bullet. I shot one of these bullets into some sand recently and it failed to expand at all. Sand is obviously not an animal and it was at close range, but it got me thinking and worrying. I would like to hear of some others' experience with these bullets. I would also like to here about some other options in a 240 grain bullet. Thanks in advance for anyones help.

I've been shooting and hunting with handguns since the early 60's and have used both the 44 and 41 magnums. I've found that a hardcast lead bullet does better on game than any of the jacketed bullets I tried.

Once I started shooting hardcast lead my one shot kills increased a bunch. If you don't cast give Beartooth bullets cast bullets a try. Marshall Stanton lives here in Northern Idaho and makes some dandy bullets.

In the last few years I became disabled to the extent I can't get up and down the mountian sides like I used to so both my 44 mags got put in younger hunters hands. I still carry and shoot a Taurus Tracker stainless 41 mag. It's got a fairly shot cylinder so it gets stoked with Lee's 210 grain hardcast tumble lube bullet cast from one of thier molds.

TaurusTracker41magnum.jpg

I head shot a 200 lb russian boar with my 41 mag Redhawk using Hornady XTP 240 gr HP's. I shot behind the left ear and out the right eye, DRT. Couldn't find the slug in the head, even took a metal detector acroos it, only found small jacket fragments throughout. I started carrying the lighter 175 gr Winchester Silver tips since. Unfortunately I haven't been able to shoot anything with them yet. I think it would take a cape buffalo to mushroom one of those 210 gr bullets at those speeds.