6.5 mm Coyote bullet

Okay, I'm new to coyote hunting and will be using a comination gun in 12ga6.5x57R for coyotes and fox. Which 6.5mm bullet would you yote hunters think would do less fur damage? 100 gr FMJ or one of the 85 grain varmint bullets? Do you think a 6.5mm, 85 grain varmint bullet would pass through a coyote? I'll be loading to about 2,800 to 2,900 fps.

I'd shoot the 85 grain varmint bullet, should just disintegrate, and at those velocities, shouldn't pass through either. Most guys on here have recommended that weight for a .243 at about those velocities for a .243, I doubt it would do much different. I plan on getting a .260 in the spring, and I will be shooting the 85 grain sierra varmint bullets for yotes.

It's not likely you'll be satisfied with the 85gr. varmint bullet to minimize fur damage. Even at 2800 or so FPS it should leave a nasty exit wound in a coyote clear out to 300 yards. Varmint bullets are designed to fragment but the energy doesn't stop there, coyotes are very thin skinned and have little bones that tear up the pelts when shattered.

My 300 Fireball leaves a 3 inch hole using 110gr. VMAX bullets fired at 2100 fps, much slower and heavier than what you intend to use and it's ugly. You may be better off using a heavier big game bullet to reduce the expansion and fur damage.

That is kind of what I thought would happen and why I have 100 grain FMJs. These are Lapau bullets and have a rounded point sort of like a .22 rimfire. I figure they will exit but not with a big hole. But I could be wrong.

The only issue you may encounter is using FMJ boolets for hunting. Some states do not allow them, otherwise use'em and see how they work for ya.