how important is scent control with coyotes?

bigmike22

I am a fanatic bow hunter and i have been told i am beyond anal about my scent control. I only use scent free soaps, detergents. I wear a scent lok suit, hat gloves, boots. I store all of my items in a scent free container. I wont let my wife drive my suv during hunting season because she wears perfum. I am new to the world of coyote hunting and was wondering how there noses are compared to a whitetail deer. If they are remotely close my wife my kill me because of how i am about scent control and it will add a few more months to my hunting seasons.
Do you guys use cover scents? Do you wear your scent lok suits for yotes as well as deer?
Do you use scent free sprays before you head out to the woods?
Whatever you use please let me know. This is all new to me
thanks big mike

Quote:
Do you guys use cover scents?

Sometimes I do and sometimes I don't

Quote:
Do you wear your scent lok suits for yotes as well as deer?

No I don't because I do not own any scent lok items at all..

Quote:

Yes I do as I believe that they can't hurt you at all..

Wind is a much more important factor and should be paid closee attention to..

The direction as well as speed will determine a lot about where a coyote will respond and how he will aproach you..

You might do a search on scent control, cover scents and such as there is a wealth of knowlege right at your figertips..

Just remeber that different areas can require different strategies to hunt them.... James L.

A coyote's nose is much better than a deer's. So much better that you probably WON'T be able to mask your scent if he gets downwind, no matter what you use.

There are some propanants of "misting" downwind with a brew of really stinky stuff. They say it gains them a couple of precious seconds to shoot, while the coyote is hit with sensory overload (but he still smells you too).

They are probably right, but I don't use that stuff on pain of banishment from my house.