Need advice on reloading cheap Federal hulls.

DAL

Although I've been reloading metallic cartridges off and on for about 20 years, I have never reloaded shotgun shells. Recently, I thought I'd remedy this, so I bought a Lee Load-All II in 12 ga. to test the waters.

Then, reality set in.

Naturally, based on my previous loading experience, I just assumed components for shotguns were all interchangeable. After really looking at the reloading info., though, I found out I was way off base. The pile of once-fired Federal Game-Shok hulls I have aren't listed as reloadable hulls in my manuals.

What to do?

I have a few once-fired Winchester AA hulls on hand, which I'll eventually use, but I really wanted to use the cheapies first, even if I only get one or two loadings out of them. But since I don't see any reloading data on the cheapies, I am at a loss as to how to proceed.

Which wad to use, which powder? I hate to chuck all of the hulls into the trash without using them at least one more time. A simple, decent-patterning 1 oz. rabbit load is all I'm looking for.

Please advise.
DAL

Pick up Lyman's Shotgun Reloading Handbook

Go to page 36-37 and cut one open and compare to the pics:
More than likely it is the same as Federal Plastic w/ Paper Basewad. It uses the same design and demensions as the Federal Premium, Classic, Hi-Power, Field, Duck and Pheasant, Game Load and American Eagle. This is their most common hull. It is a high brass, plated steel head.

If you have low brass that is truely brass, use the Federal Gold Metal Plastic load data.

As far as a combo of powder and wad there are thousands of combinations that will work, but you need to decide which powder and wad to determine the powder amount. There are light/target and heavy loads available too.