Pet Coyote

Cody Smith

Has anybody ever had a pet coyote? Our neighbor dug out a den and got a couple of pups before their eyes opened. He gave several away and kept one. Of course, he bottle fed it. I haven't seen it for a while, but it was a couple years old the last time I saw it. It acted like a very timid dog, and very much needing affection. I was rather surprised as I thought it would aggressive and independent. It doesn't seem to be protective like a dog, but it does listen. He keeps it restrained most of the time as it likes to take off on hunts I guess. It always comes back, but he's afraid someone will shoot it. :eek: He's even spray painted it orange a couple times. Anybody have any similar experiences?

Cody...

I worked as an Animal Control Officer in my city for 15 years, and have come across 2 different times where people had a Coyote as a pet, both were, as you said, very timid, they also couldn't hold still, constantly pacing back and forth in their kennel, which is consistent with being a wild animal in captivity... At that time there was no approved vaccine against rabies, and only recently has any been in development. Canine vaccine does not work for the coyotes or wolves as it does for the domestic dog... Which was part of the reason they were illegal to own within the city limits...

I had a young coyote once. It never got tame enough to even get close to.I finally let it go, but it still hung around, 'til it was hit by a car.

I never had a pet coyote or knew of anyone who did, but on the farm I grew up on we once had a very "tame" coyote hang around the same square mile for about 3 months one year. It was a rich cinnamon color--dark color. Sometimes it just sat by the road, out about 50-100 yards. I thought it may have been a dog/coyote cross. It disappeared one day as all individuals eventually do. My guess it was shot by road hunters.