Bighorn II tent from Cabelas (review)

So. Dak.

I bought this tent a couple weeks ago. It's 12x14 and came with a wood stove. I was looking for something to take to the Black Hills mountain lion hunting this November and also to go antelope hunting. We (the kids and I) took it to the river to set up and camp for a couple days. I basically just wanted to set it up and and play with it a little bit. This tent is great! There's tons of room in it. We had the wood stove set up and two cots. There was enough room for 2 more cots even with the stove set up. The material is very heavy, almost felt like a light rubber. It has 4 nice big windows. You can purchase a vestibule for it too. Can't wait to use it this winter.

Anyone else have a bighorn II?

I've stayed in the Alaknak it is a nice tent but the pole in the center of the tent really cuts down on the room. Just something to consider before you buy one.

While I'm not an expert on tents, I have over the years slept in many diffeent weather conditions and terrain, using everything from from a saddle pad, painters poly, tarp, and tent to a deluxe travel trailer.

I haven't tried the Bighorn II, but I have a Guide series Alaskan model 6 man tent from Cabela's, with a vestibule that I bought many years ago.
It is a dome style tent and nearly bullet proof. Excellent product. would recommend it highly.

On an Elk hunt once in the Rockies, we were camped in a high valley . I was awakened about 4 a.m. by the bell on one of the horses. I heard a roaring wind up at the head of the valley. It seemed to be building and moving toward us fast. We were surrounded by evergreens and tamarack, some of which were a hundred plus feet high. I was worried about large branches or a tree coming down on the tent.