Need powder input

PurpleCoyote

Im almost set to start reloading again. I use to reload for 44mag,, 22-25-,,and others. Im just a novice though and my question is about BLC-2. Ive decided to try this powder to start due to some input from others. This is a ball powder and I was just wandering if thats a good choice and has anyone had any negative results from this powder?
Thanks Daryl Pelfrey

I have not used that BLC-2 I generally use H110 or Unique for the 44 Mag and IMR 4895 or 3031 for the 22-250 but those powders work well in my 30-06 and 223 and 308 and 45-70's also

Im sorry I stated I had loaded for 44 mag and 22-250 but what Im loading now is 204. Thats what the blc-2 is for. I will also start loading for the 243 and 223 which will be diff. The blc2 will do for the 223 also I beleive but the 243 will be diff. powder.
Thanks Daryl P.

BLC2 is a dirty powder, often shoots out a big ball of flames if you have a shorter barrel, not my choice of powder.

What are you loading? .223 perhaps?

Buzz

Im loading 204 ruger. I will start 223 soon. Its funny that you say its dirty cause I saw a thing on TV about firearms and I guess the military had problems with the M16 during Viet Nam due to a ball type powder. So whats good for the 204 and 223? Im not thrilled about using something that fouls quick or is to dirty.
Thanks Daryl P.

Try RL-10 for 204 w/40g , 2015XMR works well in 223 w/50 & 55g. I used IMR4064 for the 243 both 58g & 65g.
These powder yield excellent velocity and even better accuracy for each respective caliber.

I've had good luck with Benchmark out of my .204, I tried the BLC-2 when I first started loading and it didn't shoot near as well.