Tips from the Pro's to the Newbies

connman

If I could be so bold as to start another topic. I am new to this form of hunting, but am very intrigued and would like to start off on the proper footing. Could some of you seasoned pros give us newbies some advise such as
1. When you scout
2. What you look for
3. Time of day to scout and hunt
4. What sequence do you typically call
5. How long between calls
6. When to cut and move to another stand
7. anything else that I forgot to ask because I just don't know the right questions

------------------
There are two good times to hunt...when it's raining and when it's not.

Con,
No pro's here, that's another board called the Co%*%* G#*'s and we can't talk about that here.

What I can tell you is get out there and experiment!
I'll take one of your questions: When do you walk away from the stand? Well, I'm sure we all walk away too soon sometimes. Now and then we will know it when we spot the game sprinting away. We probubly don't know about most we left lurking. But as a general rule, 10-20 minutes is enough for most coyote stands. Cats can take much longer. If you enjoy the sitting and watching, stay 30 min., you will be rewarded now and then.

Paul
Opp's, wrong flag!

------------------
"watch your backside"

[This message has been edited by Predator Paul (edited 12-12-2001).]

Conn,
I'm no pro either,as a mater of fact I just started hunting coyotes .But I scout as I am walking to and from a stand.You never know you might see a good area for the next time you are there.
I look for tracks, scat(coyote Poop)
Scout all the time while out.Anytime is a good time to hunt.The more stands you make the better your odds of calling in a critter and having an opportunity to take a shot.